Designer Confessions: DMV (Denisse M Vera)


DMV5

Photo Credits: VATRA MAG Editorial | Designs: DMV | Photographer: 35mm Fashion Photography | MUA & Hair: Caroline Massola MU Artist | Stylist: Nicole Helou | Model: Shelby Veritas Benson London MGT Group

DMV (Denisse M Vera) hit the Urban Couture runway with such a force I almost fell off my seat! These intricate designs using a method of weaving cotton cord remind me of being on a yacht, sailing the Whitsundays and sipping champagne. Seeing her pieces on the runway, I just had to have her kick off first the Designer Confessions chapter of Where the styled things are.
Get to know her better by reading her amazing journey…

Explain where your inspiration came from for this collection? Last summer I went backpacking through South America. In Peru, I flew over a landmark called the Nazca lines which are large drawings and shapes that stretch on for kilometers. It was breathe-taking and the site left me wanting to learn more. After looking into a few different theories about how the lines had come to be, two theories interested me most. 1. that the lines were man-made by the ancient Nazca people and 2. that the lines were landing strips for space crafts. I immediately began to invision a contrast in aesthetics that would be interesting if placed alongside one another within a collection. Ancient mythology, the handcrafted vs. new age technology, the modern. I then travelled to my home country Chile where I befriended an artisan on the street who taught me his art, the art of macramé. With this handcrafted technique I reference the ancient and with the print that I developed from one of the photographs I took, I reference the modern-age.

What’s your favourite fabric/material to work with? Definitely my cotton cord, I also like to work with delicate silks and heavy wools but there is nothing like making a beautiful texture out of rope, so raw yet elegant.

DMV4

What keeps you going in the industry? The endless possibilities. If ever I have a bad day I simply allow myself to be inspired and begin to think and experiment with new textures, fabrics, shapes. I am also very passionate about quality and in a time where everything is mass produced, the fact that I am creating something meaningful that will last definitely keeps me going.

What is your favourite piece in the collection? The macramé dress. Every time it goes onto a body… It takes my breathe away.

DMV2

What can you see trending for this season? Geometric yet organic prints and interesting textural details.

What can we expect for your next collection? A textural wonderland. Elegance. A story told in every piece.

Where can we purchase the collection? My pieces are made to measure so you can either place your order directly to me via email, or you can visit my studio, to me measured up for your piece. You can find the collection and contact details at http://www.denissemvera.com/

Where do you see DMV in 2 years time? I can see it in the midst of launching a new collection. I can see my pieces on the red carpet and I can see DMV with a solid client base, made up of amazing fashion forward women.

DMV3

Leave a comment